What’s it like living with mental illness? Ask Wil Wheaton.

I originally found this great upworthy.com article, written by Parker Molloy, on Flipboard and felt I needed to share it. I will be looking into Project UROK some more as this is the first I’ve heard of them and it looks like they do great work and I’d like to get more involved in spreading awareness and reducing stigma, as pretty much everybody in my life has had their own struggles with mental health issues. Wil Wheaton, among others, has shared his struggles with mental illness in a video interview in order to reduce stigma and support people in similar circumstances. I’ve always been a fan of his work and love his cameo appearances in The Big Bang Theory, but he has just risen hugely in my esteem for his part in Project UROK. As the founder, Jenny Jaffe, said, “Project UROK is the resource I wish I had had as a teenager.” My own struggles started in my teenage years and I do wonder how different things might have been if I’d had access to more support and resources like Project UROK.
http://www.upworthy.com/whats-it-like-living-with-mental-illness-ask-wil-wheaton?fb_ref=Default
This article was written by Parker Molloy and originally published on Upworthy. I have no rights to it and I’m sharing it only to spread awareness of Project UROK as a resource for those struggling with mental illness.

“Until we can talk about mental illness as an illness that, like anything else, requires professional treatment and care, we will continue to think of mental illness as something to be kept a secret.”
Jenny Jaffe

You can find out more about Project UROK at their website, like their Facebook page, or follow them on Twitter at @ProjectUROK. You can also upload your own video about your own experiences of mental illness so that you, too, can spread awareness and maybe inspire somebody going through similar circumstances.

Leave a Reply

